Symposium for Undergraduate Research and Creativity

2019 Symposium Students Talking

The 2021 Symposium was held online in mid-April. More than 100 Temple undergraduates, from 10 schools and colleges, shared their projects at this event. A complete program is posted below. The 2022 Symposium submission form will open in December with an early February deadline.

2021 Program

The Symposium for Undergraduate Research and Creativity (formerly TURF-CreWS) provides ambitious, intellectually motivated undergraduate students the opportunity to present and defend their original research or creative work among peers, faculty, family, and friends. Through its emphasis on original research and creative work, the Symposium seeks to inspire undergraduate students to analyze, critique, and engage with the world around them.

We welcome research or creative work from every discipline. Symposium participation is on a competitive basis.


  • Current full-time undergraduates from all Temple schools and colleges.
  • Work on the research or creative project must be complete at the time of submission.
  • Work must be endorsed by a Temple faculty member.
  • Students may submit multiple projects. However, if more than one project is accepted, the student will have to choose which project they will present.
  • The Symposium is a celebration of a community of scholars and artists. Presenters are strongly encouraged to attend the full day to support and learn from each other.

Past Symposium Programs

How to Apply

New in 2021: Proposals may be submitted by Temple undergraduate students only through the online application linked below. Supporting/nominating faculty will be notified by email when their student's submission is ready for review. Faculty may consult this submission review guide to familiarize themselves with the new submission format.   

Symposium for Undergraduate Research and Creativity Application

*CLA Applicants should review the CLA abstract guidelines prior to submission. 

Questions regarding the application process should be directed to the appropriate school/college coordinator listed below.

If you have general questions about the Symposium, please email:

Event Contacts:

Kerry Milch
Assistant Director for Undergraduate Enrichment
Undergraduate Studies

Emily Moerer
Associate Vice Provost
Undergraduate Studies

Symposium School and College Coordinators (Spring 2020)

Contact the appropriate school/college coordinator for questions regarding the application process.

Boyer College of Music and Dance Edward Flanagan
College of Education Julie Booth
College of Engineering Shawn Fagan
College of Liberal Arts Sonja Peterson-Lewis, Amari Johnson
College of Public Health David Sarwer
College of Science and Technology Michael Zdilla
Fox School of Business Curtis Gregory, Misty Blessley
Klein College of Media and Communication Scott Gratson
School of Sport, Tourism and Hospitality Management Heather Blackburn
School of Theater, Film and Media Arts Lindsay Goss
Tyler School of Art and Architecture Chad Curtis