Committee on Faculty Disabilities Concerns 2017-18

Chair

Ken Thurman

Members

Susan Bertolino, CLA, 1-7000, susan.bertolino@temple.edu, '18

Debra Blair, STHM, 1-1077, debra.blair@temple.edu, '18

Adil Khan, LKSM, 2-0965, adil.khan@temple.edu, '19

Richard Pomerantz, LKSM, 2-7623, richard.pomerantz@temple.edu, '20**

Michael Sachs, CPH, 1-8718, michael.sachs@temple.edu, '20**

Kenneth Thurman, COE, 1-6018, kenneth.thurman@temple.edu, '19

 

(Updated April 26, 2017)

Charge

- Making recommendations about issues affecting faculty with disabilities and their inclusion in the university community;

- Making recommendations that enhance faculty's ability to meaningfully include students with disabilities in their classes as well as the university community as a whole;

- Providing liaison between the faculty and the Office of Disabilities Resources and Services (DRS).


Composition

 

Membership shall consist of six faculty members appointed by the FSSC to serve three-year terms with initial appointments to be staggered with two one-year terms, two two-year terms, and two three-year terms. Initial appointees may be reappointed. No appointee may ordinarily serve more than two consecutive three-year terms. Additionally, one graduate student and one undergraduate student shall serve on the committee as non-voting members. Students will be selected from a list of nominees from TUGSA and Student Government for graduate and undergraduate student, respectively.

 

It is highly recommended that the Director of DRS or her/his designee serve as an ex-officio member of this committee.

 

(Approved December 4, 2015)