Skip Navigation

Skip to main content

The Writing-Intensive Course Committee

The Writing-Intensive Course Committee is responsible for overseeing the writing-intensive course program.  The WICC…

  • reviews and approves all proposals for writing-intensive courses
  • drafts policies (including the w-course guidelines) for the w-course program (These policies are subject to approval by EPPC.)
  • assesses the w-course program

The Committee is comprised of eight faculty members from across the schools and colleges. These faculty serve three-year terms. The Committee also includes three ex-officio members: a representative from the GenEd program, a representative from Paley Library, and a representative from the Writing Center. The Committee is chaired by the Director of the Writing Center.

WICC Membership 2016:

  • Leslie Allison / Writing Center
  • Daniel Berman/CLA
  • David Brookstein/Engineering
  • Gerard Brown / Tyler
  • Teresa Cirillo/FSBM
  • Dana Dawson/General Education
  • Jason DelGandio / SMC
  • Elizabeth Parker/Boyer
  • Mark Pollack/CLA
  • Adam Shambaugh / Library
  • Allison Tumarkin-Deratzian
  • Lori Salem / Chair
As Committee members complete their three-year terms, new members are added. (Generally this happens in January.) We solicit nominations from the Faculty Senate, but faculty are also invited to self-nominate. Any full-time faculty member who has taught a writing-intensive course is eligible to serve on the WICC. If you are interested in joining the committee, please contact Lori Salem