Temple Times Online Edition
    October 12, 2006
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home

Temple University to honor CBS News' Ed Bradley at the 2006 Lew Klein Alumni in the Media Awards Oct. 24



Ed Bradley, award-winning correspondent for 60 Minutes now in his 26th season with the CBS News magazine, will receive the Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award for 2006, and seven media professionals who are alumni of Temple University’s School of Communications and Theater will be inducted into the School’s Hall of Fame at the annual Lew Klein Alumni in the Media Awards luncheon on Tuesday, Oct. 24.


The awards event will take place in the Great Court of Mitten Hall, Broad Street and Berks Mall, on Temple’s Main Campus, beginning at 11:30 a.m.


Ed Bradley

The Excellence in the Media Award is presented to a distinguished member of the media outside of the Temple alumni community whose outstanding achievements and commitment to service bring honor to the profession. 


A native Philadelphian, Bradley was most recently recognized last month for his career accomplishments as a broadcast journalist with his 20th Emmy award for his 60 Minutes interview with Apollo 11 astronaut Neil Armstrong.


“We are thrilled to present the Excellence in the Media Award to Ed Bradley,” said Concetta Stewart, dean of Temple’s School of Communications and Theater.  “He is the consummate professional whose work stands as a testament to the best practices of the profession.  Ed Bradley is an inspiration for our students and for his colleagues who continue to honor him with the highest awards of the profession.”


The Temple awards are named in honor of Lew Klein, a renowned industry professional who has served as president of Gateway Communications and as executive producer of programs such as American Bandstand.  Founder and president of the National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) Educational Foundation, he has been named “Broadcaster of the Year” by the Broadcast Pioneers’ Philadelphia Chapter, is a recipient of NAPTE’s President’s Award and the Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters’ Gold Medal.  He has been an adjunct professor at Temple for more than five decades and is chair of the School of Communications and Theater’s Board of Visitors.


The 2006 Lew Klein Alumni in the Media awardees who will be inducted into the School’s Hall of Fame are:

  • Ray Didinger,  sports journalist and senior producer with NFL Films
  • Vince Hill, anchor, business and finance editor, KYW Newsradio 1060
  • Patrice M. Kozlowski, senior vice president of corporate communications,

                 The Dreyfus Corporation

  • Larry Magid, president and co-founder, Electric Factory Concerts
  • Zachary Stalberg, president and CEO, The Committee of Seventy
  • Joseph Terry, director, The Oprah Winfrey Show
  • Jeanne McHale Waite, head of production, Atlas Media Corp.


Masters of ceremony for the awards ceremony are CBS 3 Eyewitness News anchors Alycia Lane and Larry Mendte.  The event will begin with welcoming remarks by Temple University President Ann Weaver Hart.


Bradley, this year’s Excellence in the Media Award winner, started out as a reporter for WDAS Radio Philadelphia in 1963, where he covered the 1965 civil rights protests and a speech by Martin Luther King Jr., before moving to WCBS Radio in New York in 1967 and later to CBS News.  After working as a stringer in its Paris bureau and then in the network’s Saigon and Washington bureaus, he was named a CBS correspondent in April 1973 and shortly thereafter was wounded while on assignment in Cambodia. He voluntarily returned to report the fall of Cambodia and Vietnam and the subsequent U.S. pullout.


Prior to joining 60 Minutes, Bradley was a principal correspondent for CBS Reports from 1978 to 1981, and White House correspondent from 1976 to 1978.  He also anchored the CBS Sunday Night News from 1976 to 1981 and Street Stories from 1992 to 1993.

Harriet Goodheart




Since 1970, the Temple Times has been Temple's weekly newspaper for the University community. Learn more about the Temple Times.