Temple Times Online Edition
    December 13, 2006
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home


Hart announces restructuring of President’s Office

and key administrative functions


President Ann Weaver Hart has announced a restructuring of the Executive Office of the President and a realignment of several key administrative functions at the university.  The changes take effect on Jan.1, 2007.

“This new organization will assemble related functions, helping us achieve even greater effectiveness and efficiencies,” Hart said.  “The new structure will combine and leverage the strong expertise that exists throughout the university administration.”

Hart is promoting Senior Vice President Clarence D. Armbrister to executive vice president and chief operating officer.  In his expanded role, Armbrister will oversee all operational activities at the university. In addition to his current portfolio, Armbrister will assume responsibility for Human Resources, the Office of Multicultural Affairs, Business Services, and Internal Audit. Athletics will now report directly to the president, with a dotted-line report to Armbrister. The Partnership Schools program will become a part of the College of Education.

Stuart Sullivan, currently vice president for development and alumni affairs, is being named vice president for institutional advancement and will add University Communications to his portfolio. 

The Executive Office of the President will be restructured as follows:  Melissa Coopersmith, currently associate vice president and special assistant to the president, will become the president’s chief of staff.  Anne Nadol, senior assistant to the president, will be director of operations for the office. Government Relations will remain part of the president’s office, under the leadership of Tabb Bishop.

A search will be conducted for a new chief financial officer to manage investments, Risk Management and Insurance, the Budget Office, Purchasing, and the Controller’s Office. Susan Karakantas will serve as interim treasurer overseeing these functions until a new CFO is named. 

The president’s cabinet will now consist of Hart, interim Provost Richard Englert, Armbrister, University Counsel George Moore, Sullivan, Coopersmith and a chief financial officer to be named.