Temple Times Online Edition
    OCTOBER 12, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home


Great Teachers nominations sought

In an Oct. 3 letter to staff, faculty and students, President David Adamany announced the 17th year of formal recognition by the University of Great Teachers:

“Temple students and faculty recognize extraordinary teaching and appreciate its result — extraordinary learning,” Adamany wrote. “Sometimes in academe teaching is less publicly rewarded than published research; and there is often little recognition of the interconnections between scholarly excellence and teaching excellence. With the Great Teacher Awards, we recognize and honor Temple’s excellent teachers on behalf of our students.

“Established in 1988 by the Board of Trustees, the Temple University Great Teacher Awards will be awarded in 2006 to three faculty members for their continuous excellence in teaching. Each award carries a stipend of $15,000, and each awardee will receive a commemorative sculpture by professor Stanley Lechtzin of the Tyler School of Art. In addition, each recipient’s name will be engraved on the wall of the Founder’s Garden. The awards are presented at a special convocation in the spring, which will honor outstanding faculty and their contributions to Temple’s tradition of teaching excellence.

“The description of the Great Teacher Award, the guidelines, procedures and timelines for nomination of faculty for this award can be found at www.temple.edu/about/ great_teachers/nomination.html.

“All full-time faculty are eligible to be nominated for these awards. Each department may nominate one of its members. Petitions of nomination signed by 12 students or alumni(ae) may be made directly to the Awards Committee, which will advise the nominators on the preparation of the candidate’s file. In every case, we expect wide-ranging student and alumni(ae) participation in the nominating and appraisal processes.”

Nomination packets are due in the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs in Carnell Hall on Dec. 5.