Temple Times Online Edition
    SEPTEMBER 16, 2004
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home

Six Owl greats to be inducted into Temple Athletic Hall of Fame

Mark Macon, the all-time leading scorer in Atlantic 10 Conference men’s basketball history, headlines a class of six new inductees to the Temple University Athletic Hall of Fame. Joining Macon in the Class of 2004 will be Jane Catanzaro-Delaney (field hockey/women’s lacrosse/women’s basketball), Dionna Harris (softball), Bill Hyman (wrestling), Tre Johnson (football) and Mandee (Moore) O’Leary (field hockey/women’s lacrosse).

The 2004 Temple Athletic Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted on Friday, Oct. 8, at a ceremony in the Liacouras Center. On Saturday, Oct. 9, the new inductees will be welcomed into the Hall of Fame at halftime of the Owls football game against Pittsburgh. The game, which kicks off at noon, will also serve as Homecoming and be televised live by ESPN Regional television.

“This class truly represents the success that is Temple University athletics,” said Director of Athletics Bill Bradshaw. “Each is a champion in their own right and together makes for one of the best Hall of Fame classes in Temple history.”

Macon, currently a Temple men’s basketball assistant coach, is the only four-time first team All-Atlantic 10 selection in the conference’s history. A first team All-America as a freshman in 1987-88, the Saginaw, Mich., native helped lead the Owls to a 32-2 record, a No. 1 ranking in the final Associated Press poll and a spot in the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament. The 1991 Temple graduate was also named National Freshman of the Year by UPI and the USBWA. A six-year NBA performer, he led Temple in scoring all four years and his 2,609 points still stands as a school record. He also set the school record for career steals (281) and currently ranks second in the category.

Jane Catanzaro-Delaney, a three-sport standout, is arguably the best field hockey player in Temple history. A four-time All-America selection, the Ambler, Pa. (Upper Dublin High School), native is the all-time scoring leader in NCAA history. The Owl forward tallied 117 goals and dished 20 assists over her four-year career for 254 points. The 1991 Temple graduate twice scored a school-record six goals in a game, and all four of her Temple teams finished the season nationally ranked. A two-time A-10 Player of the Year (1989, 1990), she helped lift the Owls to the 1990 NCAA Regional Finals. In women’s lacrosse, she earned All-America honors during her junior and senior seasons.

Hall of Fame inductees
Marc Macon, basketball
Jane Catanzaro-Delaney, field hockey, lacrosse, basketball
Dionna Harris, softball
Bill Hyman, wrestling
Tre Johnson, football
Mandee (Moore) O’Leary, field hockey, lacrosse

A starter on the 1996 gold-medal-winning U.S. Olympic softball team, Dionna Harris was given the honor this spring to throw out the ceremonial first pitch at Temple’s new Ambler Softball Field. A 1990 Temple graduate, the Owls second baseman is a two-time All-Atlantic 10 Conference performer, and the only A-10 Softball Player of the Year (1990) in the school’s history. The Wilmington, Del. (Delcastle Tech), native still holds Temple season records for triples, home runs, total bases, batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage.

Among the top wrestlers in Cherry & White history, Bill Hyman won the 1985 NCAA heavyweight title. The school’s first two-time All-American, Hyman owns Owl records for most wins in a season (50) and career (129). The 1985 graduate also owns the school mark for pins in a career (40). The Saddle Brook, N.J. (Saddle Brook High School), native was a member of the U.S wrestling team that competed in Israel, earning a gold medal there.

One of the finest offensive lineman in Temple history, Tre Johnson was a three-time All-Big East selection, earning second team All-America as a senior. The 1994 graduate went on to be the first Big East player selected in the second round of the 1994 NFL Draft, going to the Washington Redskins. The Peekskill, N.Y. (Peekskill High School), native had a stellar nine-year NFL career highlighted by his selection to the 2000 Pro Bowl.

Mandee O’Leary, a three-time All-America women’s lacrosse player, led the Owls to the 1988 NCAA women’s lacrosse championship. The midfielder capped her senior year by being named the MVP of the Final Four. Also an All-American in field hockey at Temple, the Royersford, Pa. (Spring-Ford High School), native was a member of the U.S. women’s lacrosse World Cup team and was named to the all-century team in 1999. O’Leary is currently the head women’s lacrosse coach at Yale University, where she has compiled a 130-48 overall mark over 11 years. She was named the 2003 Northeast Regional Coach of the Year and led the Bulldogs to the NCAA Tournament and a No. 9 national ranking.

-By Larry Dougherty

Visit owlsports.com to follow Temple's varsity teams and get the latest sports