Temple Times Online Edition
    JULY 7, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home

Dawn Staley takes the popular vote

Photo courtesy Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau
Left to right: Ambassador of Basketball for the 76ers World B. Free; Dawn Staley; Robert P. Levy, chairman of the Philadelphia Sports Congress; and Tom Muldoon, president of the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau at the 2005 John Wanamaker Athletic Award ceremony.

Dawn Staley, women's basketball head coach WNBA star and three-time Olympian, was awarded the 2005 John Wanamaker Athletic Award by the Philadelphia Sports Congress, a division of the Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau, at a ceremony and luncheon on June 29.

Staley also won the Wanamaker in 1997, and joins Joe Frazier (’68, ’71) and Steve Carlton (’73, ’83) as the only two-time individual winners of the award.

Since 1961, the award has been presented to the “athlete, team or organization that has done the most to reflect credit upon Philadelphia and to the team or sport in which they excel.”

The public participated in the Wanamaker Award nomination process via ballots in The Philadelphia Daily News and online; the Wanamaker Selection Committee then made the final decision.

2005 WNBA All-Star starter
On July 1, the WNBA announced that Staley was selected as an Eastern Conference starter for the 2005 WNBA All-Star game. Voted on by the fans, Staley was the leading vote-getter among Eastern Conference guards.

This will mark Staley's fourth appearance as a WNBA All-Star and her third as a starter.

She also was a member of the United States Senior National Team that participated in the USA Basketball vs. WNBA All-Stars game held Aug. 5, 2004, at Radio City Music Hall.

Staley has never missed a start in her WNBA career, playing in 208 consecutive games. She ranks among the WNBA’s all-time leaders in total assists, assists per game, assists per turnover, minutes, free throw percentage, 3-point field goals made, steals and points.

The 2005 WNBA All-Star Game will be hosted by the Connecticut Sun on Saturday, July 9, at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The game will be televised nationally on ABC at 4 p.m. EDT.