Temple Times Online Edition
    MAY 5, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home

Temple honors its best at third annual Breakfast of Champions

Kinesiology major and soccer standout Steven Wacker (left) and elementary education major and women’s track star Rachel Clinton (center) were honored by Director of Athletics Bill Bradshaw (right) and President David Adamany at the annual Breakfast of Champions awards last week. The two were named the top senior male and female Student-Athletes of the Year, respectively.

On Wednesday, April 27, Temple honored its best in athletics, both on and off the field, at its third annual Breakfast of Champions. In all, more than 200 Temple student-athletes were recognized for their academic and athletic accomplishments, with men’s soccer standout Steven Wacker and women’s track star Rachel Clinton receiving the highest honors of the morning. The two were the named the top senior male and female Student-Athletes of the Year, respectively.

Wacker, a first team all-Atlantic 10 Conference midfielder, helped lead the men’s soccer team to its second straight conference final this year. Off the field, the Philadelphia native earned second-team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America honors, compiling a 3.87 cumulative grade-point average as a kinesiology major.

Clinton, a five-time Atlantic 10 Conference champion, is one of the top hurdlers in the East. The Columbia, Md., native earned accolades in the classroom with her selection to the Academic All-Atlantic 10 Team. The elementary education major has compiled a 3.83 cumulative grade-point average.

Director of Athletics Bill Bradshaw announced that 134 student-athletes were named to the Director’s Honor Roll, which requires that students hold a 3.0–3.49 cumulative grade-point average. President David Adamany expanded that list with the addition of 63 student-athletes to the President’s Honor Roll, which includes students with a 3.50 GPA or above.

Adamany then singled out the top 10 student-athletes for the Trustees’ Honor Roll: Rachel Clinton, women’s track; Erin Conroy, field hockey; Patricia Dalton, women’s soccer; Erin Davis, women’s gymnastics; Elena Hekimian, women’s soccer; Laura Sieverling, women’s tennis; Ashley Shepps, field hockey; Samantha Vietry, women’s soccer; Stephanie Vietry, women’s soccer; Steven Wacker, men’s soccer.

“The Breakfast of Champions is the perfect way to celebrate as a community what is special about athletics at Temple University,” said Bradshaw, who instituted the event in 2003, his first full year at the University.

Nyika White of the men’s gymnastics team and Erika Messa of the women’s gymnastics team were named the recipients of the Temple Teammates Award for Leadership and Community Service.

The women’s tennis team won the Top Team GPA Award for the third straight year with an aggregate grade-point average of 3.35.

Athletically, junior Candice Dupree was honored for earning All-America status in women’s basketball. Dupree and Patrick Hannigan, of the men’s soccer team, also were honored for being named conference Player of the Year in their respective sports. The softball team, the women’s basketball team, seven members of the men’s gymnastics team and one women’s fencer were recognized for participating in the NCAA Tournament.

WTXF Channel 29’s Don Tollefson, who has been involved with Philadelphia athletics as a television sports anchor for four decades, served as the master of ceremonies for this year’s Breakfast of Champions.

- By Larry Dougherty