Temple Times Online Edition
    MAY 18, 2006
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home

Diamond Awards winners recognized

On May 3, more than 70 of the University’s most distinguished students came together for the first annual Diamond Awards ceremony. Sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs and the Alumni Association, the new event creates a centralized forum to honor undergraduates who have won high honors from campus departments as well as from local and national sources. In 2006, Temple students received several highly competitive national awards, including a Marshall scholarship, NASA grants, and a Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation scholarship.

Students were recognized for various awards in five categories: academics, memorial, peer educator, scholarships and student life.

Seventeen students who earned a trip to the LeaderShape Institute based on their participation in Student Affairs’ Leadership Challenge project were also recognized at the reception.

“Temple University has some of the finest students in the world, and we’re very pleased and very excited to be recognizing them for all that they have achieved,” said Ainsley Carry, Temple’s associate vice president for student affairs and dean of students.

The following is a list of Diamond Award winners broken down by category:


Mena Hanna, Marshall Scholarship Student
Josiah Mount, Thi Thach, Justin Pasquale, Jeremi Leasure and Dennis Defino, NASA grants
Alisa Ann Waxman, Interdisciplinary Award of Excellence
Amy Vuong, Mind Body and Spirit Award
Pat Kinsella, Rohm and Haas
Allison White, Teacher Education Graduate in Special Education
Aineya Ricketts, RCC Outstanding Mentor Award
Jennifer Levy, ACUHO-I Stars College


Anthony DeFusco and Eric Jutkowitz, Adeline and Marvin Wachman Scholarship Fund
Priya Patel, The Dorothy A. Seegers Memorial Award
Jennifer Benson, Jerry Zaslow Memorial Award
Amber Ziminski, Joel M. Scafer Award
Amy Rice, Jeremy Shinefeld and Nikolin Kordhishti, Sol Feinstone Award
Neal Santos, Valaida S. Walker Award
Traci Dougherty, Whittaker Award
Erin Davis, Samantha Davis and Olusemiloore Owolana, LeRoy M. Carl Award

Peer Educators

Molly McKendry, Outstanding THEO Certified Peer Educator
Cyd Katz, Outstanding THEO Volunteer
Jeannie Sabaroff, CASA Peer Educator of the Year
Cathryn C. Clark, CERT Peer Educator of the Year
Allison Pymer, Barry Goldwater Fellowship Honorable Mention
Samantha Davis, Ruth Whitney Scholarship
Emilie B. Haertsch, St. Andrew’s Society of Philadelphia
Summer Hammoudeh, Susan B. Komen Breast Cancer Scholarship
Veronica Fontama, Justin Somers, Aelon Porat, Joseph Milicia, Leah Major, Sarah Leszczuk, Ben Faust, Nicholas Boyer and Chris Holzinger Kingsboro, Spencer Educational Foundation Scholarship
Demaris Trapp, Fellowship from the Institute for International Public Policy

Student life

Angelic Buchanan, Jason Toussaint, Tymira Wright and Kyle Shireman, Ted Feshuk Memorial Award
Alysha Brennan, Chris Stover, Christoher Wink, Chris Reber, Brandon Lausch, John Kopp, Nadia Stadnycki, Samantha Davis, Ben Watanabe and Steve Gengler, Keystone Award
Paolo DeVito, Greek Man of the Year
Sabrina Hanitz, Greek Woman of the Year
Alpha Epsilon Pi, Greek Chapter of the Year
Oscar Chow, Outgoing TSG president
John Gross, Male Athlete of the Year
Jenna Remmert and Ashley Shepps, Female Athlete of the Year
Anthony Munoz, James S. White Award 2005–06
Jamie Nguyen, Local Hero Award for Community Service
Neal Santos, Volunteer of the Year
Good Fellaz, Best Student Organization
April Eagan, Best Student Leader
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc., Best Program
Christopher P. Griffenkranz, George C. Marshall ROTC Award
Toni Harris, Commencement speaker