Temple Times Online Edition
    APRIL 7, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home


Grace Ma, associate professor of public health and director of the Center for Asian Health (CAH) in the College of Health Professions, recently received the National Institutes of Health’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. award at a special ceremony in Bethesda, Md. The theme of this year’s event was “The Dream of a Healthy Nation Becoming a Reality.” Ma, one of five award recipients, was honored for her leadership in ATECAR (Asian Tobacco Education and Cancer Awareness Research), a CAH initiative that focuses on tobacco and cancer issues in the Asian community.

Ann F. VanSant, professor of physical therapy in the College of Health Professions and presidential fellow in the Office of the President, received the American Physical Therapy Association’s Section on Pediatrics Bud DeHaven award at its meeting last month in New Orleans. This is the highest honor given by the Section on Pediatrics. VanSant currently serves as the editor of the Pediatric Physical Therapy, the official journal of the APTA’s Section on Pediatrics.

Henry Weisman, associate professor of psychiatry and chief of the Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Service at the School of Medicine, recently received the Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents from the American Psychiatric Association’s Council on Medical Education and Lifelong Learning. Weisman earned this award for his contributions to resident education.

Alan Izenman, professor of statistics and senior research fellow at The Fox School, and a member of the Committee on Law and Justice Statistics of the American Statistical Association, participated at an all-day meeting at the Bureau of Justice Statistics in the U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, D.C., on Jan. 25. The committee, which has eight members, promotes and develops quality statistical activities in civil and criminal justice settings.

Temple doctoral student Lisa Waller embodies the idea that diamonds can be found in your own back yard. Waller recently received Harrisburg’s first-ever Essence of Humanity Award, presented by Mayor Stephen R. Reed.

Honoring the dedication of a number of the University’s faculty, the 25-Year Club annual dinner will be held April 9 in the Great Court of Mitten Hall.

Joel Richter, professor of medicine and chair of the department of medicine, was recently named the Richard and Dorothy Evans Chair in Medicine.