Temple Times Online Edition
    DECEMBER 8, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home


Boyer student wins Marshall Scholarship

Mena Hanna, a senior majoring in composition in the Boyer College of Music, has been awarded a Marshall Scholarship. He is one of just 40 students selected nationwide to receive what is recognized as one of the world’s most prestigious scholarships. Winners pursue two years of graduate study in their chosen field at an institution in the United Kingdom. Hanna, an Honors student who expects to graduate summa cum laude, will study musicology and composition at Oxford University.

Xie receives grant to study aggression in young teens

Temple professor Hongling Xie has received a grant to study aggression and victimization in middle school students.

The two-year, $252,477 grant from the William T. Grant Foundation will allow Xie, an assistant professor of psychology, to track 300 children in Norristown-area middle schools as they move from fifth through seventh grades.

Xie will examine how peer social dynamics and peer culture affect aggression and victimization of students. She’s targeting students making the transition to middle school because that’s one of the most important transitions during early adolescence.

“Middle school students frequently experience social aggression, such as gossiping, social isolation and exclusion. And that has been found to be detrimental to learning and social/emotional development,” Xie said.

“Findings from the study will help identify the types of support students need in adjusting to the changes in peer social dynamics during the transition to middle school,” she continued.

“More broadly, this research will generate information that can significantly impact prevention programs and the education of teachers and practitioners.”

- Barbara Baals

Jill Derstine, chair of the nursing department in the College of Health Professions, has been named chair of the board of the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, which accredits bachelor’s and master’s nursing degree programs. Derstine will begin her one-year term in January 2006.

At the School of Medicine, Nina Gentile, associate professor of emergency medicine, and
David Karras, professor and associate chair of emergency medicine, have been appointed to the editorial board of the journal Academic Emergency Medicine.

Helen Kwalwasser, professor of violin and artistic adviser of string instruction at the Boyer College of Music and Dance, has been awarded the 2006 American String Teacher Association Artist Teacher Award. The award originated in 1959, and its purpose is to recognize an artist/pedagogue of renowned stature from within North America. Kwalwasser will be presented with the award at ASTA’s 2006 annual national conference in March 2006 Kansas City, Mo.

In October, Temple University Ambler horticulture senior Kimberly Lock was presented with a first-place award in the Pennsylvania Horticultural Society City Garden Contest’s Large Individual Flower Garden category. The event will take place at the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia. Photos of Lock’s winning gardens were on display at Liberty Place in Philadelphia for one week.

Kurt Paulsen, assistant professor of community and regional planning at Ambler College, recently was awarded the Barclay Gibbs Jones Award for Best Dissertation in Planning — the highest award for recent doctoral dissertations in the field of planning — by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning during the association’s conference in Kansas City in October. Paulsen’s dissertation research examined land use and fiscal policies in New Jersey. 

The National Institutes of Health’s Department of Health and Human Services has selected Thomas J. Rogers to serve as a member of the Center for Scientific Review’s NeuroAIDS and Other End-Organ Diseases Study Section. Rogers, a professor of pharmacology and member of the Fels Institute for Cancer Research and the Center for Substance Abuse Research at the School of Medicine, will begin his four-year term on July 1, 2006.

Lolly Tai, chair of the department of landscape architecture and horticulture at Temple University Ambler, was honored with the CELA Award of Distinction during the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA) 2005 Conference held in Athens, Ga., in late September. She was one of just two people selected internationally for the prestigious honor.

The Mid-Atlantic Pharmacology Society (MAPS) has named Ronald J. Tallarida president, a three-year term. Tallarida, professor of pharmacology at the School of Medicine and former University vice provost for faculty affairs, previously served as vice president of the organization. MAPS is a branch of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. 

Monica Treichel, assistant professor of general and strategic management at The Fox School of Business and Management, was recently named to the steering committee for November’s Pennsylvania Governor’s Conference for Women.

In November, the Temple University Web complex, built by Computer Services, has been showcased on the Macromedia Web site as a case study, as well as on the Adobe Web site. The Macromedia site included a quote from Karl Horvath, assistant director for Computer Services.

The Formal Perennial Gardens, the centerpiece of the Temple University Ambler’s Landscape Arboretum, has been recognized with the Pennsylvania Horticultural Society’s Suburban Greening Award. This award recognizes individuals, community groups, garden clubs, and businesses who are inspired to care for public space plantings in suburban Philadelphia, New Jersey and Delaware.