Temple Times Online Edition
    NOVEMBER 3, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home

Stop, look and listen at concert of electroacoustic works

Did you know … that November is ElectroAcoustic Music Month? For anyone new to the genre, it includes any and all musical compositions produced electronically. And the variations on that theme are many.

On Nov. 3, Maurice Wright, the Laura Carnell Professor of Music Composition at the Boyer College of Music and Dance, will present “Cybersounds,” a concert of works for electroacoustic sound and video images that span 50 years of experimentation by artists and composers whose work bridges the disciplines of animation, computer programming, music and film.

“These are artists who are thinking in more than one dimension,” Wright said. “Computers are amplifying or changing the way we do what we do. Is the technology changing the creative process? If so, is this good or bad? This is a much more private and direct look into someone’s imagination.”

Among the works on the Nov. 3 concert program are “Mutations” (1974) and “Newtonian II,” with visuals by Lillian Schwartz and music by Jean-Claude Risset. Schwartz, best known for her pioneering work using computers for computer-generated art and computer-aided art analysis, has worked as a consultant at AT&T Bell Laboratories and with leading scientists, engineers and psychologists developing techniques for computer use in film and animation. Risset, who has written instrumental music for orchestra, is renowned for his groundbreaking work with computer sound synthesis.

Steven Berkowitz, an assistant professor of fine arts at the Tyler School of Art who teaches photography and computer imaging, will present “RiFuSu” (2005), for which he created both visuals and music.

Wright will present his own work, “Arkansas,” a five-part series, begun in 1992, that combines electroacoustic music with computer-generated images that illustrate or accompany the musical compositions.

Also on the program: “Cyber Ezechias _Recursive Chatter” (2005), with visuals and music by Sandra James, a Temple alumna with a degree in computer science who has studied electronic music synthesis with Wright; “Tread Depth” (2005), visuals and music by Paul J. Geissinger; “Synchromy” (1971) and “Neighbors” (1952), visuals and music by Norman McClaren; and “The Dust Bunny” (2004), with visuals by Grady Klein and music by Paul Lansky.

“Cybersounds” will be held on Thursday, Nov. 3, at 7:30 p.m. at Rock Hall.

- By Harriet Goodheart