Temple Times Online Edition
    OCTOBER 27, 2005
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home


Temple makes plans in case of SEPTA strike

Temple University has made contingency plans to respond if SEPTA’s bus, trolley and subway lines are hit by a strike in the early morning hours of Monday, Oct. 31. Information on the University’s plans is available online at www.temple.edu/septa or via the Temple information hotline at 215-204-1975.

In the event of a SEPTA transit strike, all Temple students, faculty and staff on Main Campus who can access Regional Rail lines are encouraged to take a train to the Temple University station at 10th and Berks streets. In addition, Temple will offer shuttle buses running the length of Broad Street, from Pattison to Cheltenham avenues, to serve the Main Campus and the Health Sciences Center. The University will also provide discounted parking in specified lots for carpoolers (at least two Temple students or employees per car).
Classes and events at Temple will be held as scheduled.

A positive partnership

Ferguson and Meade, two of the four Temple Partnership Schools, made Adequate Yearly Progress as defined by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania under the No Child Left Behind Act. This is the first time in their histories that the schools have achieved this, and they are part of a group of 132 schools in the School District of Philadelphia with this accomplishment.
Meade and Ferguson received this distinction because they increased the number of students achieving at grade level or better on the state’s PSSA exam in math and reading by an average of 20 percent.

A reception on Oct. 20 honored the many successes of teachers and students at all the Partnership Schools — Meade, Ferguson, Duckrey and Dunbar. At the event, Executive Director for Partnership Schools John DiPaolo also announced new gifts totaling more than $300,000 this school year for the Temple Partnership Schools.

Additional Lindback Award winners announced

The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation has granted Temple additional time to identify winners for its annual awards, and four outstanding faculty members have been selected as 2005 winners. They are:

• Brian A. Goldstein, associate professor of communication sciences, College of Health Professions.
• Michael Klein, associate professor of music theory, Esther Boyer College of Music and Dance.
• Dennis Terry, associate professor of geology, College of Science and Technology.
• Christine Woyshner, associate professor of curriculum, instruction and technology in education, College of Education.

The winners will be included in the faculty convocation in April 2006.
Watch upcoming issues of the Temple Times for profiles of these winning teachers.