Temple Times Online Edition
    JANUARY 26, 2006
NewsEventsArchivesPhotosStaffLinksTemple Home


Roseangela Boyd, associate professor of therapeutic recreation, and Rita Lourie, assistant professor of nursing, both in the College of Health Professions, received the inaugural CHP Teaching Grant Award.

The Center for Social Policy and Community Development is one of 20 organizations nationwide to be chosen as an intermediary for the Compassion Capital Fund, an outlay of the Department of Health and Human Services that seeks to provide startup groups with technical assistance, training and funding in order to grow their organizations’ capacity. The effort is part of a push by the federal government to bolster community and faith-based organizations. The grant will provide technical assistance and funding opportunities to local organizations through CSPCD’s new Building Leadership & Organizational Capacity (BLOC) program.

Enrique Hernandez, Abraham Roth Professor and chair of obstetrics/gynecology and reproductive sciences in the School of Medicine and Hospital, has been elected governor-at-large of the American College of Surgeons.

Aquiles Iglesias was recently awarded a subcontract from a National Institute of Child Health and Human Development-funded project at California State University’s Long Beach Foundation for his research project “Language and Literacy Development in Mexican Children.” Iglesias, professor of communication sciences in the College of Health Professions, will receive an estimated $103,612 over a four-year period ending April 30, 2009.

The College of Physicians of Philadelphia recently inducted Donald Parks and Ronald Rubin as fellows. Parks is assistant dean of minority affairs and Rubin is professor of medicine at the School of Medicine.

Kristie Koenig, assistant professor of occupational therapy in the College of Health Professions, received the 2005 Dr. Stephen Heater Award for Outstanding Achievement from the Pennsylvania Occupational Therapy Association.

Linda Levy, professor of occupational therapy in the College of Health Professions, was selected by the governor as one of six primary delegates representing the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for the 2005 White House Conference on Aging.

Matt Mackie, assistant professor of physics in the College of Science and Technology, has been appointed to the Delaware State University Board of Trustees by Delaware Gov. Ruth Ann Minner.

Men’s soccer coach David MacWilliams has been inducted into the Baltimore Blast Hall of Fame.

Eva Surmacz, an associate professor in biology and a researcher in the Sbarro Institute for Cancer Research and Molecular Medicine, has been awarded a two-year, $189,000 grant from the W.W. Smith Charitable Trust to investigate the molecular mechanisms that underlie the link between obesity and breast cancer.

Clinical psychology program ranked ninth in nation