University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee

Chair

To be named

Members

Elected by the Senate

 

Chris Harper, SMC, 1-5474, charper@temple.edu, '15

Frank Farley, COE, 1-6024, frank.farley@temple.edu, '15

Jeffrey Draine, SSW, 1-5443, jeffdraine@temple.edu '14

Joseph Picone, Engr, 1-4841, picone@temple.edu, '14

S. Kenneth Thurman, COE, 1-6018, sthurman@temple.edu, '14

Richard Hricko, TYL, 8-2125, richard.hricko@temple.edu, '14

Nicholas Kripal, TYL, 8-2790, nkripal@temple.edu, '14

To be named

David Sonenshein, Law, 1-8958, dsonensh@temple.edu, `15**

 


Selected by the Provost

 

Richard Heimberg, CLA, 1-1575, heimberg@temple.edu, '14

Mohammed Kiani, Engr, mkiani@temple.edu, '14

Raj Chaganti, FSBM, 1-5675, chaganti@temple.edu, '14

Espen Hammer, CLA, 1-0122, ehammer@temple.edu, '13

Paul Swann, TFMA, 1-1735, pswann@temple.edu, '13

Terry Halbert, FSBM, 1-1629, thalbert@temple.edu,'14

Zebulon Kendrick, CHPSW, 1-8526, zkend@temple.edu, Administrator

Diane Maleson, Law, 1-3745, diane.maleson@temple.edu, Administrator

Joel Sheffield, CST, 1-8839, jbs@temple.edu, `14

 

 

Composition

The University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee shall report to the Provost or other designated University officer, and shall be composed of at least sixteen (16) members, as follows: Half shall be faculty members from the TAUP bargaining unit selected by the Faculty Senate; the remaining members shall be faculty members from the TAUP bargaining unit selected by the Provost, except that in the Provost's discretion up to two may be administrators with faculty rank. Committee votes will be conducted by secret ballot. Individuals serving on the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee shall serve two (2) year terms, with a staggered rotation to assure that half of such members continue on the Advisory Committee each year. No more than two (2) faculty members from any one department, college or school may serve at any one time.


Committee membership shall be increased by an additional two (2) members if one additional non-bargaining unit college or school comes within the jurisdiction of the Committee. One of these faculty members will be selected by the Faculty Senate, the other will be selected by the Provost. No further members shall be added, however, if more than one additional college or school comes within the jurisdiction of the Committee. Committee membership shall be limited to no more than eighteen (18) members.

Eligibility to Serve

Only individuals holding the rank of Professor at Temple may serve as Faculty Senate representatives on the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee or participate in committee deliberations regarding the promotion of a faculty member to the rank of Professor. Individuals being considered for promotion are ineligible to participate in deliberations regarding promotions in the year in which their candidacy is being considered.