University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee 2016-17

Chair

- Sherrill Dodds (Humanities and the Arts)
- Joseph Picone (Sciences, Life Sciences and Engineering)
- Rafael Porrata-Doria (Social Sciences, Business and Law)

Members

Committee A (Humanities and the Arts)


Selected by the Senate:
Scott Laserow, TYL, 8.2869, scott.laserow@temple.edu - 1st year (2018)
Fred Duer, TFMA, 1.4263, Fred.duer@temple.edu - 1st year (2018**)
Christopher Harper SMC 1.8346 Christopherharper@temple.edu - 2nd year(2017)

 

Selected by the Provost:
Cynthia Folio, BCMD, 1.8316, cynthia.folio@temple.edu, 1st year (2018)
Jeremy Schipper, CLA, 1-5272, jeremy.schipper@temple.edu, 1st year (2018)
Bryant Simon, CLA, Bryant.simon@temple.edu - 2nd year (2017)

 

Committee B (Sciences, Life Sciences and Engineering)

 

Selected by the Senate:

Cristian Gutierrez, CST, 1-7284, gutierrez@temple.edu, 1st year (2018)

Joseph Picone, Chr., ENGR, 1.4841, Joseph.picone@temple.edu - 1st year (2018**)
Peter Riseborough, CST, 1-5655, peter.riseborough@temple.edu, 1st year (2018)

 

Selected by the Provost:

Richard Heimberg, CLA 1st year (2018)
Emily Keshner, CPH (Admin), 2.4815, Emily.keshner@temple.edu - 2nd year (2017)
Ellen Walker, PHAR, 2.6770, ellen.walker@temple.edu, 1st year (2018)

 

Committee C (Social Sciences, Business and Law)

 

Selected by the Faculty Senate:
Cornelius Pratt, SMC, 1.3214, Cornelius.pratt@temple.edu - 1st year (2018**)
Kenneth Thurman, CoE, 1.6018, Kenneth.thurman@temple.edu - 2nd year (2017)
Rafael Porrata-Doria, Chr., Law, 1.7694, Rafael.porrata-doria@temple.edu - 2nd year (2017)

 

Selected by the Provost:
Jan Ting, Law, 1.8020, Jan.ting@temple.edu - 1st year (2018)
Jacqueline Zinn, FSBM, 1.1684, Jacqueline.zinn@temple.edu - 2nd year (2017)
Kimberly Goyette, CLA (Dept. Chr), 1.7979, Kimberly.ann.goyette@temple.edu - 1st year (2018)


 

 

(Last update: August 29, 2016)

Under the revised TAUP language, the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee (UTPAC) will consist of three distinct committees: Committee A, Humanities and the Arts; Committee B, Sciences, Life Sciences and Engineering; and Committee C, Social Sciences, Business and Law. No committee can have more than two representatives from a single College. Faculty in the Beasley School of Law may only serve on Committee C.

Composition

The University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee shall report to the Provost or other designated University officer, and shall be composed of at least sixteen (16) members, as follows: Half shall be faculty members from the TAUP bargaining unit selected by the Faculty Senate; the remaining members shall be faculty members from the TAUP bargaining unit selected by the Provost, except that in the Provost's discretion up to two may be administrators with faculty rank. Committee votes will be conducted by secret ballot. Individuals serving on the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee shall serve two (2) year terms, with a staggered rotation to assure that half of such members continue on the Advisory Committee each year. No more than two (2) faculty members from any one department, college or school may serve at any one time.


Committee membership shall be increased by an additional two (2) members if one additional non-bargaining unit college or school comes within the jurisdiction of the Committee. One of these faculty members will be selected by the Faculty Senate, the other will be selected by the Provost. No further members shall be added, however, if more than one additional college or school comes within the jurisdiction of the Committee. Committee membership shall be limited to no more than eighteen (18) members.

Eligibility to Serve

Only individuals holding the rank of Professor at Temple may serve as Faculty Senate representatives on the University Tenure and Promotion Advisory Committee or participate in committee deliberations regarding the promotion of a faculty member to the rank of Professor. Individuals being considered for promotion are ineligible to participate in deliberations regarding promotions in the year in which their candidacy is being considered.