Student Feedback Forms Committee

Chair

Peter Jones

Members

Pamela Barnett, TLC, 1-8761, barnettp@temple.edu

Ina L. Calligaro, PHARM, 2-4967, calligaro@temple.edu

Mary Conran, FSBM, 1-8152, mconran@temple.edu

James W. Degnan, P&PA, 1-4643, degnan@temple.edu

Joseph P. DuCette, CLA, 1-4998 jducette@temple.edu

Steven Fleming, CST, , sfleming@temple.edu

Sally Frazee, P&PA, 1-8685, sfrazee@temple.edu

Patricia Hansell, CLA, 1-1417, phansell@temple.edu

Peter Jones, Chair, VPUS, 1-2044, prjones@temple.edu

Diane Maleson, FA&FD, 1-3745, maleson@temple.edu

Muriel Morisey, LAW, 1-3220, mmorisey@temple.edu

Bernie S. Newman, SSA, 1-1205, bnewman@temple.edu

Daniel Spaeth, CST, 1-6772 ,spaceman@temple.edu

Dolores Zygmont, CHP, 2-3789, zygmont@temple.edu

Charge

The Course and Teaching Evaluation Committee is a joint faculty, staff and student committee charged with advising the President and Provost about matters related to the evaluation of teaching at the University, particularly regarding Student Feedback Forms (SFFs) and the implementation of the university's policy on course and teaching evaluations: http://policies.temple.edu/getdoc.asp?policy_no=02.78.14. The Committee formulates studies and evaluates data on the evaluation of teaching and makes recommendations regarding the methods, approaches, assessment documents and logistics related to course and teaching evaluations.

Membership

Faculty committee members are appointed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Staff members are appointed by the Provost.

Workload

The committee generally meets quarterly in full session--or more frequently, as needed. The working groups or subcommittees may meet more often.

Recent Accomplishments

The committee has developed and guided the implementation of substantive change from the old CATE to the new SFF forms. Changes have involved:

  • From a single CATE form to multiple SF forms to reflect different styles of teaching
  • Revisions to content of forms - reduced number of questions, changed wording and re-ordering of questions.
  • Reduced number of open ended questions.
  • Changed format of reporting out data - from 2 digit to one digit means; from percentiles to 3 group classification of Upper, Middle and Lower.
  • Implemented one year pilot test of e-SFF format.