Text Version |Site map | Contact Us | Temple University | FAQs | Search
Prospective Students | Current Students | Faculty/Preceptors | Alumni

Why Temple School of Pharmacy

cGMP Services
cGMP Services
Moulder Center


Dr. Patrick P. DeLuca



Dr. Patrick P. DeLuca, '57 Emeritus Professor at the University Of Kentucky College Of Pharmacy, has been elected as the School of Pharmacy's 2012 Sprowls Lecturer. The lecture is entitled, Freeze Dried Pharmaceuticals" and will be presented on Monday, March 19th at Noon in Room 101 at the School of Pharmacy.

Novel drug delivery, formulation and process development of proteins and peptides, and freeze-drying, are the teaching and research interests of Dr. DeLuca who enjoyed a brief but successful tenure in the pharmaceutical industry prior to joining the UK College of Pharmacy in 1970 to establish a pharmaceutical technology program.

He was the co-founder of Faith Pharmacy, a community faith-based pharmacy that provides prescription medications to indigent people throughout central Kentucky. Since 2001, Faith Pharmacy has served over 3,300 patients filling over 39,000 prescriptions free of charge.

Recognitions from the University of Kentucky include the William B. Sturgill Award for outstanding contributions to graduate education and research, the Sullivan Medal for his humanitarian efforts, and a Distinguished Lecturer at the College of Pharmacy

On the state level, Dr. DeLuca has assisted the Kentucky Council for Postsecondary Education in developing a comprehensive health sciences education plan for Kentucky, and has served on the Kentucky Department of Health, Education and Welfare Committee. His efforts on the state level led to his being named Kentucky Pharmacist of the year in 2002 and is the recipient of the William E. Lyons Award for his contributions to the University of Kentucky, the people of Lexington and the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Dr. DeLuca's service and humanitarian efforts are well known and respected by his peers across the nation and he has been recognized and honored for extraordinary accomplishments on many occasions. He is a Fellow and founding member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) and in 2000, was the recipient of the first AAPS Outstanding Educator Award in Pharmaceutical Sciences Education. He has also served as a delegate to the US Pharmacopeia and on committees of the Food and Drug Administration.

He has mentored 75 graduate students and post doctoral fellows and is the author of 225 publications. He received his B.S. in Pharmacy in 1957, a M.S. in Pharmacy in 1960 and a PhD in the Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1963, all at Temple. In 2006, he received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Perugia in Italy.



Return to News index