about | Maps & Directions | contact | admissions | faculty | alumni & development | library | Tech Support Center | dean's office | Policies & Procedures

Temple University School of Medicine news Temple University School of Medicine news Temple University School of Medicine news

OFFICE OF news communications

News Archive


April 16, 2012


Alpha Omega AlphaFour Temple University School of Medicine (TUSM) faculty members were inducted this year into the medical school's Epsilon Chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society--a professional medical organization that promotes excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine.  Alpha Omega Alpha is to medicine what Phi Beta Kappa is to letters and the humanities, and Sigma Xi is to science--and is a leading advocate for scholarly attainment and moral purpose in medicine.


This year's TUSM faculty inductees include:


  • Susan Freeman, MD, MS, Clinical Associate Professor (Adjunct), and Chief Medical Officer of Temple University Hospital.
  • David A. Wald, DO, Professor of Emergency Medicine, and Medical
    Director of the William Maul Measey Institute for Clinical Simulation and Patient Safety.
  • Roy Steinhouse, MD, Associate Department Chair, Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, and Director of the Psychiatry Residency Program (also a TUSM alumnus).
  • Marla R. Wolfson, MS, PhD, Associate Chair of Physiology and Professor of Physiology, Pediatrics, and Medicine (also a TUSM alumnus).

"Each of this year's faculty member inductees to the TUSM's Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha exemplifies the honor society's belief that medical professionals who demonstrate gifted teaching, support humanistic ideals, and promote service to others improve care for all patients," says Amy J. Goldberg, MD, Councilor of TUSM's Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Omege Alpha, Professor of Surgery, and Trauma and Surgical Critical Care Section Chief.


"Dr. Freeman is spearheading vital patient safety curriculum development for our medical students and residents; Dr. Wald is at the forefront of cutting-edge clinical simulation training; Dr. Steinhouse is advancing the education program for our psychiatry residents; and Dr. Wolfson has earned several 'Golden Apple' awards for her pulmonary physiology teaching," Goldberg notes.