The College of Liberal Arts at Temple University The College of Liberal Arts at Temple University

Faculty

Name

Areas of Expertise

Contact

Carolyn Adams

Professor

 

Urban public policy, housing, economic development, infrastructure planning.

324 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 1432
carolyn.adams@temple.edu

Max Andrucki

Visiting Assistant Professor

Internship Coordinator

Social and cultural geography, particularly questions around the ways that different kinds of bodies move through and experience space. Sexuality, gender, and space; the geographies of whiteness in contemporary South Africa; and on the intersection between migration and transnationalism and identity.

318 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 1233

max.andrucki@temple.edu

Sanjoy Chakravorty
Professor

Distribution, Development, Globalization, Cities, Regions, India 325 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 1434
sanjoy@temple.edu

Fletcher Chmara-Huff

Visiting Assistant Professor

Territory and Territorialization, Political Ecology, Indigenous Peoples, Caribbean Studies, Fisheries, Sustainability, Citizen Science and related methodologies, Identity Politics, Whiteness, and Green Christianity.

340 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 8396

fletcherc@temple.edu

Roman Cybriwsky
Professor

 

Urban-social geography, world cities, neighborhood change and development, cultural geography, Pacific Asia. 335 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 1374
romancyb@temple.edu

Bradley Gardener

Visiting Assistant Professor

Critical Race Theory, Identity Studies, Migration Studies, Geography of New York, Jewish Diaspora, Whiteness Studies, Marxist Political Economy, Critical GIS, Urban Geography

333 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 3331

bradley.gardener@temple.edu

Melissa Gilbert
Professor

Department Chair

 

 

Urban, economic, and feminist geography, feminist and critical race theory, urban social theory, urban poverty and labor markets, labor and community organizing, information technologies and economic empowerment, qualitative methods. 309 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 5482
mgilbert@temple.edu

Allison Hayes-Conroy

Assistant Professor

Food systems; sustainable nature-society relations (political ecology, environmental and food justice, ANT); social movements; globalization; urban/rural studies and land use policy; feminist geography and politics of the body; politics of affect, feelings and emotion; community development; spiritual ecology.

329 Gladfelter Hall

anhc@temple.edu

Shangrila Joshi

Visiting Assistant Professor

Political ecology, environmental justice, environment and development, climate mitigation policy and politics, qualitative research methods, South Asia.

325B Gladfelter Hall

215 204 2961

shangrila.wynn@gmail.com

Charles Kaylor Visiting Assistant Professor

GIS, information technology, e-government, the digital divide, community planning

313B Gladfelter Hall

charles.kaylor@temple.edu

Benjamin Kohl
Professor

 

 

International development and economic policy, international urban studies, political economy of development and planning, urban planning, Latin America, Andean Region, Bolivia ...

339 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 6261

bkohl@temple.edu

Robert Mason
Professor

Environmental policy, land-use planning and growth management, parks and protected areas, Japan. 316 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 4483
rmason@temple.edu

Michele Masucci
Professor

Interim Vice Provost for Research

 

Water resources management, GIS and society, appropriate use of GIS and information technologies, planning theory, community development. 313 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 4429
masucci@temple.edu

Jeremy Mennis
Associate Professor,

Undergraduate Chair

 

 

Geographic information science and systems: spatio-temporal databases, spatial analysis, geographic data mining, social and environmental applications of geographic information systems (environmental justice, urban ecology). 328 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 4748
jmennis@temple.edu

David Organ

Visiting Assistant Professor

 

Historical geography, urban geography and African American Studies

323 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 4962

djorgan@temple.edu

Hamil Pearsall Assistant Professor

Graduate Chair

Urban sustainability; environmental justice and health; GIS; human dimensions of global environmental change; risk, hazards and vulnerability; brownfield redevelopment; urban greening

313A Gladfelter Hall

215 204 3074

hamil.pearsall@temple.edu

Christina Rosan

Assistant Professor, Director of Environmental Studies

Metropolitan planning and governance in the U.S. and Latin America, environmental planning, land use  and growth management, urban politics, management of mega-cities

320 Gladfelter Hall

215-204-9327

cdrosan@temple.edu

Rickie Sanders
Professor


Urban social geography, geographic education/ under represented groups, environment and development. 317 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 5650
rsanders@temple.edu

Kolson Schlosser

Visiting Assistant Professor

Political ecology of mineral resource extraction in northern North America, environmental history, critical geopolitics, population geography, geographic pedagogy.
 

338 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 2185

kolson@temple.edu

Jacob Shell

Assistant Professor

Transportation and infrastructure; transport animals; geography of social movements and rebellions; cartography and geovisualization; mapping of texts and literature; geographic dimensions of political economy.

319 Gladfelter Hall

215 204 1374

jacob.shell@temple.edu

Jerry Stahler
Professor

Psychology (clinical), program evaluation, urban social problems, drug abuse. 337 Gladfelter Hall
215 204 6939 jstahler@temple.edu

Elizabeth L. Sweet
Visiting Assistant Professor

Immigration, Economic Development, Gender Violence and Diversity Issues in Community Development 325A Gladfelter Hall
215 204 2960
bsweet@temple.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

Name

Areas of Expertise

Contact

David Bartelt
Emeritus Professor

 

Housing policy, urban social theory, urban schools, urban economic development. dbartelt@temple.edu

Marilyn Silberfein
Emeritus Professor

 

Urban and rural development, third world economic geography, migration, political geography, tourism, world affairs.

338A Gladfelter Hall

215 204 3386
pawling@temple.edu

     

Adjunct Faculty in GUS

 

 

Beau Bradley
Andrew Buss

                                 abuss@temple.edu

Michael Coard
Mathew Davis
                                                         mjd@refondata.com
David Feldman
                                                            dwf84@yahoo.com
Walter Gholson
Charles Johnson

                              drcharlie3@verizon.net

Silvana Mazzella
Christina Valente
 
 

 

 

 


Staff

Name

Contact

Belinda Wilson
Administrator
215 204 0472
bwilson@temple.edu

Tycina Cousin

Coordinator

215 204 7692

tcousin@temple.edu

 

 

Home | Undergraduate | Graduate | People | Resources | News | Research | Contact

308 Gladfelter Hall Temple University Philadelphia PA 19122 (215) 204-7692 © Temple University 2008