Welcome!

The Department of Critical Languages offers courses in Arabic, Chinese, Hebrew, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, and Vietnamese. Students enroll in these courses for a variety of reasons, which include career goals, personal interest, preparation for study abroad, and the desire to fulfill certain university and college program requirements. Successful completion of Critical Languages courses can satisfy the international studies core requirement as well as the language requirements of majors ranging from Asian Studies to International Business.


The Departmental of Critical Languages
Anderson Hall, Room 332
Office Telephone: 215-204-8268 

Name Email Phone
     
Chair:    
Louis Mangione louis.mangione@temple.edu 215-204-8247
     
Faculty:    
Arabic: Waiel Abdelwahed waiel.abdelwahed@temple.edu  
Arabic: Alexa Firat alexa.firat@temple.edu  
Arabic: Gordon Witty gwitty@temple.edu  
Chinese: Jie Li jie.li@temple.ledu  
Chinese: Shuchen Susan Huang Shuchen.Susan.Huang@temple.edu  
Chinese: Louis Mangione louis.mangione@temple.edu  
Chinese: Yun Zhu yun.zhu@temple.edu  
Hebrew: Ayala Guy ayala.guy@temple.edu  
Hebrew: Hanoch Guy hanoch.guy@temple.edu  
Hebrew: Ilana Margolis ilana.margolis@temple.edu  
Hindi: Milind Ranade milind.ranade@temple.edu  
Japanese: Barbara Thornbury barbara.thornbury@temple.edu  
Japanese: Reiko Yoshida Reiko.Yoshida@temple.edu  
Japanese: Takamasa Nagai takamasa.nagai@temple.edu  
Japanese: Yukari Fujiwara yukari.fujiwara@temple.edu  
Korean: Katie Lee Moon katie.lee.moon@temple.edu  
Vietnamese: Anh Nguyet Phan aphan@temple.edu  
     
Office Staff:    
Coordinator: Peggy Shadding peggy.shadding@temple.edu 215-204-8268