About us / People / Faculty

 

Alkus, Joseph M.S. National Louis University - Instructor
Policing and organized crime, governmental regulatory control, private and public sector cooperation, career guidance for public sector employment
website
215-204-5283
j.alkus@temple.edu
Auerhahn, Kate*

Ph.D., UC Riverside, 2000, Associate Professor & Graduate Chair

Formal social control (criminal punishment); policy analysis; simulation modeling; sentencing and criminal case processing; social inequality and criminal justice

website

215.204.1354

auerhahn@temple.edu

Belenko, Steven*

Ph.D., Columbia University, 1977, Professor

Drug abuse and crime, drug treatment for offenders, program evaluation, health services access for offenders, organizational change, offender health services and health risk behaviors

website

215.204.2211

sbelenko@temple.edu

Groff, Elizabeth*

Ph.D., Maryland, 2006, Associate Professor
Geographical criminology, modeling geographical influences on human activity; agent-based modeling as a methodology; crime prevention; policing
website
215.204.5164
groff@temple.edu

Harland, Alan* LL.M., Pennsylvania, 1972; Ph.D., Albany 1982, Associate Professor
Sentencing; jail crowding; county justice systems analysis
website
215.204.1506
alanh@temple.edu
Harris, M. Kay*

M.A., Chicago, 1971, Associate Professor Emeritus
Offender transformation and desistance from crime, grass-roots crime prevention, community justice, restorative justice, gender-responsive programming, reducing prison and jail crowding, peacemaking criminology
website
215.204.5167
mkay@temple.edu

Harris, Phil*

Ph.D., Albany, 1979, Associate Professor
Juvenile justice policy, juvenile corrections, program evaluation, strategic planning
website
215.204.5267
phil.harris@temple.edu

Hiller, Matt*

Ph.D., Texas Christian, 1996, Associate Professor

Drug treatment, drug courts, drug policy, program evaluation, quantitative methods, and motivation.

website

215.204.9030

mhiller@temple.edu

Irons-Guynn, Cheryl

Ph.D., Temple, 2009; J.D., Temple, 1983, Assistant Professor

Criminal law, Prosecution, Community Justice, Mental Health Courts

website

267.468.8281

cirons@temple.edu

Jones, Peter*

Ph.D., Aberystwyth, 1981, Professor

Juvenile justice, community-based corrections, risk prediction and classification, assessment and evaluation
website
215.204.2044
prjones@temple.edu

Metzger, Joanne JD., Widener, Assistant Professor
Criminal justice policy and planning; corrections, prisoner reentry, gender-responsive treatment programs; juvenile justice and the law, school violence and reform
website
alrach@temple.edu
Ostrow, Sharon

M.A., Rutgers University, 1983, Instructor

Arts in Criminal Justice, victims, community/family networks

website
215.204.3051
scostrow@temple.edu

Parisi, Nicolette

Ph.D., Albany; J.D., Temple, Assistant Professor 

Death penalty, criminal procedure, investigation methods and strategies

website

215.204.6640

nparisi@temple.edu

Pompa, Lori

MSW, Rutgers, 1992; LSW, Pennsylvania, 1993; Instructor

Founder and Director, The Inside-Out Prison Exchange Program; corrections; race and the CJ system; experiential and community-based education; transformative pedagogy
website
215.204.5163
lpompa@temple.edu

Ratcliffe, Jerry*

Ph.D., Nottingham (UK), 1999, Professor & Department Chair

Intelligence-led policing, criminal intelligence, police leadership and decision-making, environmental criminology, GIS and crime mapping, spatial analysis

website

215.204.7702

jhr@temple.edu

Rege, Aunshul* Ph.D., Rutgers, 2012, Assistant Professor

Cybercrime, terrorism, organized crime, corporate crime

website

215.204.1671

rege@temple.edu

Rengert, George*

Ph.D., North Carolina, 1971, Professor Emeritus
Urban crime patterns, illegal drug markets, perception and use of time and space by property criminals
website
215.204.7994
grengert@temple.edu

Roman, Caterina*

Ph.D., American , 2002, Assistant Professor
Neighborhood violence, fear,social capital, built environment, gangs, prison/jail reentry, evaluation
website

215.204.1025
croman@temple.edu

Rosen, Cathy*

LL.M., Temple, 1987, Associate Professor
Criminal procedure, criminal law defenses, legal history, women and the law
website
215.204.1089
crosen@temple.edu

Silverman, Daniel

J.D., Temple School of Law, 1985, Assistant Professor

Scholarship of teaching

website

215.204.7530

daniel.silverman@temple.edu

Taylor, Ralph*

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins, 1977, Professor

communities and crime, human ecology, intra-metropolitan crime patterns, reactions to crime, police-community dynamics, metamodels in criminological theory
website
215.204.7169
rbrecken@temple.edu

Traylor, LaTosha*

Ph.D., University of Illinois, 2013, Assistant Professor

Prisoner reentry & reintegration, social justice and inequality,family & incarceration

website

215.204.1506

latosha@temple.edu

Tripp, Tara

M.S., St. Joseph's, 1995, Instructor
Criminological theory, diversity issues, women's studies, criminal justice policy & planning
website
215.204.9182
tntripp@temple.edu

Van Cleve, Nicole*

Ph.D., Northwestern, 2011, Assistant Professor

Courts, the racialization of criminal justice, ethnography
website
215-204-8972

nvancleve@temple.edu

Vîlcicã, E. Rely*

Ph.D., Temple, 2008, Assistant Professor

Courts, criminal processing and adjudication; policy analysis, system reforms and innovations; comparative criminal justice

website
215.204.1643
rvilcica@temple.edu

Welsh, Wayne*

Ph.D., UC Irvine, 1990, Professor

Violence theory and prevention, corrections, substance abuse, organizational theory

website

215.204.6520

wwelsh@temple.edu

Wood, Jennifer*

Ph.D., Toronto, 2000, Associate Professor
Policing and security, regulation, public health, qualitative research

website
215.204.8055
woodj@temple.edu

* Graduate Faculty  

People / Staff

 

Hardy, Stephanie

Criminal Justice Student Advisor

215.204.7919

shardy01@temple.edu

Major, Maria

Coordinator

215.204.7918
mmajor@temple.edu

Scott, LaSaundra

Coordinator

215.204.1376

lscott01@temple.edu