Temple University Undergraduate Bulletin
Site Map | Bulletin Home | Temple University

Music & Dance
Introduction

General Information
Academic Advising
Academic Policies & Regulations
College Graduation Requirements
Student Contact Information
Faculty

ProgramS Of Study

Music Technology Component
PERFORMANCE
Vocal Instruction
Keyboard/Piano
Keyboard/Harpsichord
Piano Pedagogy
INSTRUMENTAL STUDIES
Instrumental Performance
Classical Guitar Performance
JAZZ STUDIES
Instrumental Performance
Jazz Arranging/Composing
Jazz Voice Performance
MUSIC STUDIES
Theory
Composition
Music History
MUSIC EDUCATION
Music Education
Voice Concentration
Piano Concentration
Instrumental Concentration
Instrumental/Music Technology Component
Music Education/Jazz
Piano/Jazz Studies Component
Instrumental/Jazz Studies Component
Voice/Jazz Studies Component
MUSIC THERAPY
Music Therapy
Voice Concentration
Piano Concentration
Guitar Concentration
Music Therapy/Jazz
Jazz, Voice Concentration
Jazz, Piano Concentration
Jazz, Guitar Concentration
B.S., Music
Bachelor of Science
DANCE
Bachelor of Fine Arts, Dance
General Information
Dance Major
Track, Dance Education
Track, Performance/Choreography

other useful links

Temple Policies
Course Descriptions
Course Schedule
OWLnet
Admissions Application
Student Life
TUportal
Archived Bulletins
PDF Version
  Academic Programs / Music & Dance

Academic Advising Center

All Bachelor of Music and Bachelor of Science in Music students will be assigned a faculty advisor. Students are required to meet with their advisor prior to registering for classes for the following semester.

Academic advisors attempt to avoid errors when advising students about their program requirements.  Temple University's Schools and Colleges can not assume liability for errors in advising; therefore, students must assume primary responsibility for understanding the requirements for their degree, and acquiring current information about their academic status.

 

Boyer College of Music and Dance - ADVISING CONTACTS

Dr. Edward Flanagan, Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Presser Hall

215-204-8301

edward.flanagan@temple.edu

Dr. Beth Bolton, Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs

Rock Hall

215-204-5527

bbolton@temple.edu

Marguerite Jackson, Assistant Director of Advising

Presser Hall

215-204-2229

margo@temple.edu

 

Music Faculty Advisors

Instrumental

Arthur Chodoroff        
Director of Bands; Coordinator for Woodwinds and Brass

215-204-8389

arthur.chodoroff@temple.edu

Dr. Matthew Brunner

Director of Athletic Bands

215-204-2162                   

brunnerm@temple.edu

 

Jazz Studies

Terell Stafford, Director                                          

Director of Jazz Studies

215-204-8036
tstaffor@temple.edu

 

Music Education and Music Therapy

Dr. Deborah Sheldon, Chair         

Professor of Music Education        

215-204-8649                                                                
dsheldon@temple.edu

Dr. Kenneth Aigen           

Associate Professor of Music Therapy 

215-204-8311             

kaigen@temple.edu

Dr. Beth Bolton                    

Associate Dean

215-204-8474

bbolton@temple.edu

Dr. Rollo Dilworth                
Associate Professor of Music Education

215-204-8317
rollo.dilworth@temple.edu

Dr. Alison Reynolds              
Associate Professor of Music Education                      
alison.reynolds@temple.edu

 

Music Studies

Bachelor of Science in Music

Margo Jackson                                                                           
Assistant Director of Advising

215-204-2229                                      
margo@temple.edu

Composition

Dr. Maurice Wright, Department Chair

Composition Coordinator

215-204-8016

wright@temple.edu

Music History

Dr. Steven Zohn                                            

Music History Coordinator

215-204-5096

szohn@temple.edu

Music Theory

Dr. Edward Latham                                            

Music Theory Coordinator

215-204-8498

elatham@temple.edu

 

Keyboard

Harvey Wedeen, Chair

Professor of Piano

215-204-8648

hwedeen@temple.edu

Margo Jackson

Assistant Director of Advising

215-204-2229                                

margo@temple.edu

 

Voice and Opera

Dr. Christine Anderson, Chair

Associate Professor of Voice

215-204-8375

cla@temple.edu

 

Dance Advisors

Dr. Kariamu Welsh, Chair

Professor of Dance

215-204-6286

kariamu@temple.edu

Dr. Karen Bond

Associate Professor of Dance                                

215-204-6280
kbond003@temple.edu

Dr. Luke Kahlich

Professor of Dance   

215-204-6260                                    
lkahlich@temple.edu

Jillian Harris                      

Assistant Professor of Dance

BFA Coordinator       

215-204-5114

jhdan2@temple.edu

Dr. Joellen Meglin             

Associate Professor of Dance

215-204-6284

jmeglin@temple.edu

Merian Soto                          

Associate Professor of Dance

215-204-6281                                      

msoto@temple.edu

 

For information regarding University Resources and Services please utilize the following web links:

About Boyer   
              

Boyer Policies                       

Boyer Graduation Requirements                 

Boyer Resources            

 

Change of Concentration within Music
Students wishing to change their concentration or major may need to contact James Short, Director of Admissions and Recruitment, Presser Hall, 215-204-8598, to schedule an audition.  An interview with the Department Chairperson, along with written authorization from your Department and Faculty advisor, is required.

Intra-University Transfer form: http://www.temple.edu/vpus/documents/iut_form.pdf

If you are considering changing your major from music to another major within Temple University, please see Margo Jackson in Presser Hall. Many Colleges require students to schedule Intra-University Transfer workshops.

Permission to Take a Course Outside of Temple University                      


University Academic Resources

New Student Orientation Information

Registration and Schedule Revision — Add/Drop Form

 

, Temple University. All rights reserved. Site created by Computer Services