Temple University Undergraduate Bulletin
Site Map | Bulletin Home | Temple University

Music & Dance
Introduction

General Information
Academic Advising
Academic Policies & Regulations
College Graduation Requirements
Student Contact Information
Faculty

ProgramS Of Study

Music Technology Component
PERFORMANCE
Vocal Instruction
Keyboard/Piano
Keyboard/Harpsichord
Piano Pedagogy
INSTRUMENTAL STUDIES
Instrumental Performance
Classical Guitar Performance
JAZZ STUDIES
Instrumental Performance
Jazz Arranging/Composing
Jazz Voice Performance
MUSIC STUDIES
Theory
Composition
Music History
MUSIC EDUCATION
Music Education
Voice Concentration
Piano Concentration
Instrumental Concentration
Music Education/Jazz
Piano/Jazz Studies Component
Instrumental/Jazz Studies Component
Voice/Jazz Studies Component
MUSIC THERAPY
Music Therapy
Voice Concentration
Piano Concentration
Guitar Concentration
Music Therapy/Jazz
Jazz, Voice Concentration
Jazz, Piano Concentration
Jazz, Guitar Concentration
B.S., Music
Bachelor of Science
DANCE
Bachelor of Fine Arts, Dance
General Information
Dance Major
Track, Dance Education
Track, Performance/Choreography

other useful links

Temple Policies
Course Descriptions
Course Schedule
Admissions Application
Student Life
TUportal
Archived Bulletins
PDF Version
  Academic Programs / Music & Dance

Academic Advising Center

All Bachelor of Music and Bachelor of Science in Music students will be assigned a faculty advisor. Students are required to meet with their advisor prior to registering for classes for the following semester.

Academic advisors attempt to avoid errors when advising students about their program requirements.  Temple University's Schools and Colleges cannot assume liability for errors in advising; therefore, students must assume primary responsibility for understanding the requirements for their degree, and acquiring current information about their academic status.

 

Boyer College of Music and Dance - ADVISING CONTACTS

Dr. Edward Flanagan, Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Presser Hall

215-204-8301

edward.flanagan@temple.edu

Dr. Beth Bolton, Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs

Rock Hall

215-204-5527

bbolton@temple.edu

Marguerite Jackson, Assistant Director of Advising

Presser Hall

215-204-2229

margo@temple.edu

Lesley Copans, Academic Advisor

Presser Hall

215-204-8372

lcopans@temple.edu

 

Music Faculty Advisors

Instrumental

Dr. Matthew Brunner

Director of Athletic Bands

215-204-2162                   

brunnerm@temple.edu

Vladimir Dyo

Instrumental Music

vladimirdyo@temple.edu

Phillip O'Banion

Assistant Professor, Artist Director for Percussion

obanion@temple.edu

Jazz Studies

Terell Stafford                                          

Director of Jazz Studies

215-204-8036
tstaffor@temple.edu

 

Music Education and Music Therapy

Dr. Rollo Dilworth, Chair

Associate Professor of Music Education

215-204-8310

rollo.dilworth@temple.edu

Dr. Deborah Sheldon  

Professor of Music Education

215-204-8649
dsheldon@temple.edu

Dr. Beth Bolton              

Associate Dean

215-204-8474

bbolton@temple.edu

Dr. Alison Reynolds              
Associate Professor of Music Education                      
alison.reynolds@temple.edu

Dr. Nathan Buonviri             
Assistant Professor of Music Education                      
buonviri@temple.edu

Dr. Darlene Brooks

Associate Professor of Music Therapy

darlene.brooks@temple.edu

 

 

Music Studies

Bachelor of Science in Music

Marguerite Jackson                                                       
Associate Director of Advising

215-204-2229                                      
margo@temple.edu

Music Studies

Dr. Michael Klein

Music Studies Department Chair

215-204-8322

mklein01@temple.edu

Composition

Dr. Maurice Wright

Composition Coordinator

215-204-8016

wright@temple.edu

Music History

Dr. Steven Zohn                                            

Music History Coordinator

215-204-5096

szohn@temple.edu

Music Theory

Dr. Edward Latham                                            

Music Theory Coordinator

215-204-8498

elatham@temple.edu

 

Keyboard

Charles Abramovic, Chair

Professor of Piano

215-204-7388

charles.abramovic@temple.edu

Marguerite Jackson

Assistant Director of Advising

215-204-2229                                

margo@temple.edu

 

Voice and Opera

Dr. Christine Anderson, Chair

Associate Professor of Voice

215-204-8375

cla@temple.edu

 

Dance Faculty Advisors

Dr. Karen Bond

Associate Professor of Dance                                

215-204-6280
kbond003@temple.edu

Dr. Sherril Dodds

Professor of Dance

Chair, Dance Department

215-204-4959

sherril.dodds@temple.edu

Jillian Harris                      

Assistant Professor of Dance

215-204-5114

jhdan2@temple.edu

Laura Katz Rizzo

Assistant Professor of Dance

215-204-2328

laura.katz@temple.edu

Kun-Yang Lin

Associate Professor of Dance

215-204-5168

kun-yang.lin@temple.edu

Dr. Joellen Meglin             

Associate Professor of Dance

215-204-6284

jmeglin@temple.edu

Merian Soto                          

Associate Professor of Dance

215-204-6281                                      

msoto@temple.edu

Dr. Kariamu Welsh

Professor of Dance

215-204-6286

kariamu@temple.edu

For information regarding University Resources and Services please utilize the following web links:

About Boyer   
              

Boyer Policies                       

Boyer Graduation Requirements                 

Boyer Resources            

Change of Concentration within Music
Students wishing to change their concentration or major may need to contact James Short, Director of Admissions and Recruitment, Presser Hall, 215-204-8598, to schedule an audition.  An interview with the Department Chairperson, along with written authorization from your Department and Faculty advisor, is required.

Change of Program Request form: www.temple.edu/vpus/forms/index.htm#advising

If you are considering changing your major from music to another major within Temple University, please see Margo Jackson in Presser Hall. Many colleges require students to schedule Intra-University Transfer workshops.

Permission to Take a Course Outside of Temple University                      


University Academic Resources

New Student Orientation Information

Registration and Schedule Revision — Add/Drop

 

, Temple University. All rights reserved. Site created by Computer Services