Skip to main content

Percussion Studies

Phillip O'Banion: Assistant Professor and Artistic Director of Percussion Studies

Adjunct Percussion Faculty
Christopher Deviney
Rolando Morales-Matos
William Wozniak

Adjunct Percussion/Jazz Faculty
Tony Miceli - vibraphone
Dan Monaghan - drumset
Steve Fidyk - drumset
Byron Landham - drums

Percussion Program

B.M. in  Instrumental Performance
M.M. in Percussion Performance
D.M.A. in Percussion Performance
Professional Studies




The percussion program, under the direction of Phillip O’Banion, provides students performing opportunities in symphony orchestra, percussion ensemble, wind symphony, concert bands, contemporary and new music chamber ensembles, marching band, big bands, jazz combos, and Latin music ensembles. Students are immersed in an academic environment that is challenging and rewarding. A diverse musical curriculum compliments private instruction and ensemble coaching by faculty and guest clinicians who are musicians of the highest artistic caliber.


Adjunct percussion faculty include some of the most notable performers and pedagogues in the country, including Alan Abel, Christopher Deviney, Steve Fidyk, Tony Miceli, Rolando Morales-Matos, Daniel Monaghan, and William Wozniak. The M.M. program in orchestral percussion, under the mentorship of Alan Abel for the past four decades, has a distinguished history with over 65 graduates performing in full-time symphony orchestras across the globe. Additionally, B.M. and M.M. alumni of Temple’s percussion program hold teaching positions at secondary schools, universities and conservatories. Recent alumni have secured teaching and clinical positions (music therapy), toured with notable jazz groups, or continued study at respected graduate institutions around the country.


The Boyer College frequently hosts visiting percussion artists and lecturers. Recent guests have included Russell Hartenberger, Gordon Stout, Michael Burritt, Colin Currie, Douglas Howard, Don Liuzzi, Bob Becker, Shannon Wood, Ryan Dilisi, Frank Epstein, Leigh Howard Stevens, Brian DelSignore, Warren Wolf and Jeff Hamilton.

Temple University Percussion Ensemble

The Temple University Percussion Ensemble seeks to provide a quality educational chamber music experience for its members, promotes the performance of percussion literature in a variety of styles, and encourages the composition of new works for the medium. The ensemble is directed by Phillip O’Banion, Artistic Director of Percussion Studies at the Boyer College.


Percussion ensemble members have recently worked with composers John Mackey, Michael Daugherty, Russell Hartenberger, Michael Colgrass, Bob Becker, Adam Silverman, Michael Burritt, Gordon Stout and Ivan Trevino, as well as NEXUS and the Mobius Percussion Quartet. They are frequent collaborators with the Dance Department and the Tyler School of Art within Temple’s Center for the Arts. In 2012 the ensemble commissioned, premiered and recorded Russell Hartenberger’s "Cadence" and released the premiere recording of John Mackey’s "Mass" for percussion sextet. Both performances are available commercially on BCM+D records. In April of 2013 the ensemble was featured on the Philadelphia Orchestra’s chamber music series, performing Steve Reich’s "Drumming." The group has recently commissioned a number of works, including Alejandro Vinao’s percussion sextet "Water," Marc Mellits "Gravity,: Adam Silverman’s "Sparklefrog" and "Volcanic Eruption" by adjunct faculty member Rolando Morales-Matos. In April of 2014, ensemble members gave the world premiere of Gordon Stout’s "Four Faces" for marimba and percussion quartet, with the composer as soloist. The ensemble will release an album of new works for percussion late 2015. 


Cadence by Russell Hartenberger on BCM&D Records, 2013
MASS by John Mackey on BCM&D Records, 2012

Percussion Ensemble
Temple University Percussion Ensemble
Phillip O'Banion, Director