Asian Studies Affiliated Faculty and Staff

 

Administration

   
 

Chair: Dr. Kathleen Uno
Associate Professor of History
kuno@temple.edu

 

Executive Committee: Dr. Roman Cybriwsky, Dr. Roselyn Hsueh, Dr. Monte Hull, Dr. Louis Mangione,
Dr. Shigenori Nagatomo, Dr. Barbara Thornbury

Assistant Chair: Dr. Monte Hull
Associate Professor of Religion (Teaching Track)
mhull@temple.edu

 

Interim Administrator and Coordinator: Stephanie Morawski
811 Anderson Hall
215-204-1644
morawski@temple.edu

 

Asian Studies Advisory Council Members

   
 

Bingenheimer, Marcus
Assistant Professor of Religion and Asian Studies
Ph.D., Würzburg University
China and Asia, Buddhist Studies, History of Buddhism, Digital Humanities
marcus.bingenheimer@temple.edu
http://mbingenheimer.net

Chakravorty, Sanjoy
Professor of Geography and Urban Studies
Chair, Department of Geography and Urban Studies
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Spatial inequality, globalization, India, Kolkata
sanjoy@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/gus/chakravorty/index.htm

Dr. Roman Cybriwsky
Department of Geography and Urban Studies
335 Gladfelter Hall
romancyb@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/gus/cybriwsky/index.htm
Office Hours: Fall 2008 - TTh 10:00-11:30AM, Wed 11:00-12:00 and by appointment

 

Goyette, Kimberly
Associate Professor of Sociology
Director, Center for Vietnamese Philosophy, Culture and Society
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Sociology, education, stratification, Vietnam
kgoyette@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/sociology/goyette
http://www.temple.edu/vietnamese_center/welcome.htm

 

Huang, Shuchen Susan
Assistant Professor of Critical Languages (Chinese)
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
Chinese literature and film, Chinese diaspora
shuchen.susan.huang@temple.edu

 

Hsueh, Roselyn Y.
Assistant Professor of Political Science and Asian Studies
Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
China, Asia; contemporary politics, globalization, development
roselyn.hsueh@temple.edu

 

Hull, Monte  
Associate Professor of Religion (Teaching Track)
Japanese Buddhism, Asian philosophy, comparative religion, environmental ethics
mhull@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/religion/faculty/hull.html

Jhala, Jayasinhji
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., Harvard University
Visual anthropology, anthropology of modern India, ethnographic film
jjhala@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/anthro/trialfaculty.htm#jhala

Joshi, Priya
Associate Professor of English
Ph.D., Columbia University
Imperialism and its legacies, postcolonial theory, Bollywood film
pjoshi@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/english/People/Faculty.asp

 

Mangione, Louis
Associate Professor of Critical Languages (Chinese)
Ph.D. Cornell University
Semantics and traditional ballads in Zhejiang
louis.mangione.@temple.edu

Mason, Robert
Associate Professor of Geography and Urban Studies
Director, Temple University Environmental Studies Program
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Environmental policy, parks and protected areas, Japan
rmason@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/gus/mason/index.htm

Nagatomo, Shigenori
Professor of Religion
Ph.D., University of Hawai'i
Comparative philosophy, Japanese Buddhism
snagatom@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/religion/faculty/nagatomo.html
http://astro.temple.edu/~snagatom/

 

Nguyen, Thi Dieu
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Aix-en-Provence
World history, history of Southeast Asia, Vietnam
dieunguy@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/history/KO/nguyen/index.html

 

Quinn-Judge, Sophia W.
Associate Professor of History (Teaching Track)
Associate Director, Center for Vietnamese Philosophy, Culture and Society
Ph.D., School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Vietnam, Southeast Asia, Asia, Eurasia; History, Comparative Revolution, Decolonization
quinnjud@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/history/quinn-judge/index.html
http://www.temple.edu/vietnamese_center/welcome.htm

 

Sandhu, Amandeep
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara
Global Sociology: India, Political Economy, Development, Inequality; Political Sociology
sandhu@temple.edu

http://www.temple.edu/sociology/sandhu/index.htm

Spodek, Howard
Professor of History and Geography and Urban Studies
Ph.D., University of Chicago
History of India, history of urbanization, world history
spodek@temple.edu

 

Thornbury, Barbara
Associate Professor of Critical Languages (Japanese)
Chair, Department of Critical Languages
Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Japanese performing arts and literature
barbara.thornbury@temple.edu

 

Uno, Kathleen
Associate Professor of History
Ph.D., University of California,-Berkeley
Japan, China, Asia; social and comparative history, gender, history and theory
kuno@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/history/UZ/uno/index.html

White, Sydney
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D., University of California,-Berkeley
Anthropology of modern China: ethnicity, gender, rural-urban dichotomies, medical
sydneyw@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/anthro/trialfaculty.htm#white

 

Zhang, Lu
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
China, East Asia, Globalization, Labor, Political Economy, Development, Comparative-Historical Sociology
lu.zhang1@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/sociology/zhang/index.htm

Zhao, Shanyang
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., University of Maryland
Internet and human interaction, methodology
bzhao001@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/sociology/Zhao/index.asp

 

Zhu, Yun
Assistant Professor of Critical Languages and Asian Studies (Chinese)
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Chinese Literature and Culture, Women, Gender, Transnational Chinese Cinemas
yun.zhu@temple.edu
http://sites.temple.edu/yunzhu/

   
Other Faculty:
 

Fujiwara, Yukari (Japanese)
Lecturer in Critical Languages
M.A., Eastern Michigan University
Japanese Language Teaching and Linguistics: Language Related Episodes (LRE), Small Groups
yukari.fujiwara@temple.edu

  Yoshida, Reiko
Lecturer in Critical Languages (Japanese)
M.A., West Chester University
Japanese language pedagogy
reiko.yoshida@temple.edu
 

Huang, Chi-Wei
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Asian Studies and International Business
S.J.D., University of Pennsylvania Law School
China, Asia; Law, Business, Political Economy, Values and Society 
cwhuang@temple.edu


 

Imtiyaz, A.R.M.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
Ph.D., Nanjing University
China, South Asia; Political Science, History; Ethnic Conflict, Nationalism
imtiyaz@temple.edu
http://ssrn.com/author=116077

 

Kim, Gooyong
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Media/Cultural Studies, Media Technologies, Critical Pedagogy, Social Movements
gooyong@temple.edu

 

Nagai, Takamasa
Adjunct Instructor of Critical Languages (Japanese)
M.Ed., West Chester University
Japanese Language, Education
takamasa.nagai@temple.edu 

 

Myers, Michelle,
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
Ph.D., Temple University
English, Asian American Literature, Performance Art
mlmyers@temple.edu

 

Nopper, Tamara,
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
Ph.D., Temple University
Sociology; Asian Americans; U.S. and Comparative Small Business; Race and Ethnicity
tnopper@temple.edu 

 

Reagan, Paul
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
Ph.D., Cambridge University
Japan, China, Korea, Asia; History, International Relations, Culture
paul.reagan@temple.edu