General Education Executive Committee

Chair

Istvan Varkonyi

Co-Chair

Julie Phillips

Members

Istvan Varkonyi, Chair, 1-2855, samsa@temple.edu

Julie Phillips, Co-Chair, 1-6248, jdphilli@temple.edu

Deborah Stull, CST, 1-6140, debstull@temple.edu, '14

Peshe Kuriloff, COE, 1-3341, kuriloff@temple.edu

Vallorie Peridier, Engr. 1-7800, peridier@temple.edu

Tom Wright, SMC, 1-1886, tswright@temple.edu

Mary Conran, FSBM, 1-8152, mary.conran@temple.edu, '16

Michael Hesson, CLA, 1-0538, michael.hesson@temple.edu, '16

Gerard Brown, TYL, 8-9181, gerard.brown@temple.edu, ' 16

 

Jill Swavely, (EPPC rep) Educ., 1-6120, jill.swavely@temple.edu

Anar Khandvala (Advising rep)

 

Student Representatives:

Michael Puppolo (Grad student)

Kevin Kuruc (Honors undergrad)

Andrew Simmers (TSG undergrad rep)

 

Charge

  • To coordinate broadly the work of the general education program;
  • o define and refine, with Provost approval, the intellectual criteria within each general education area;
  • To oversee the periodic fifth-year reviews of approved general education courses to determine whether they continue to meet general education criteria and whether they are effectively carrying out the purposes of general education;
  • To conduct such other studies and recommend such changes in policy as may be necessary to maintain the purposes and vibrancy of the general education program;
  • To participate in the generation and review of new courses for the program;
  • To evaluate and made decisions regarding waiver requests; and to provide regular reports to the Faculty Senate.

Workload

The committee meets twice a month.