Ad-Hoc Faculty Senate Committee on Potential Adjunct Participation In The Faculty Senate


In order to get the Faculty Senate discussion on adjuncts and their role in the Faculty Senate moving along, we have decided to form an Ad-Hoc Committee with a number of faculty (2 tenured/tenure-track, 2 NTTs, and 2 adjuncts) to develop some recommendations/options for the FSSC to consider. The Ad-Hoc Committee will meet however many times it needs to, perhaps doing some work in smaller groups, to develop these recommendations. Ideally, we would have a report by December 12, but if the Committee needs more time then we will consider the recommendations in the beginning of Spring semester.

Ad-hoc Committee Membership:

Tenured:
Paul LaFollette, CST, 1-6822, lafollet@temple.edu

Jim Korsh, CST, 1-8199, korsh@temple.edu

NTTs:

Angela Beale, CPH, 1-8720, abeale@temple.edu
William Cabin, SSW, 1-2164, wcabin@temple.edu

Adjuncts:
Jennie Shanker, jshanker1@gmail.com
Priscilla Danielson, COE, 1-8011, pmdaniel@temple.edu


(Adopted by the Faculty Senate Steering Committee November 7, 2017)

Updated December 11, 2017

 

Ad-hoc Committee for the Quality of Faculty Life

Rachel Groner, CLA, 1-2212, rgroner@temple.edu

Paul S. LaFollette, CST, 1-6822, lafollet@temple.edu

Jin-Jun Luo, CST, 2-7854, jin.jun.luo@temple.edu

A. Marjatta Lyyra, CST, 1-3776, lyyra@temple.edu

Mark Rahdert, Law, 1-8966, mrahdert@temple.edu

Charles Ruchalski, Pharm., 2-2212, cruchals@temple.edu

Noah Shusterman, CLA, 1-4276, ncshust@temple.edu

 

Charge:

The Ad-hoc Committee for the Quality of Faculty Life as assembled by the Faculty Senate Steering Commitee to evaluate the strengths, limitations, and oportunities for career development and evolution in the areas of faculty satisfaction and faculty life at Temple. The commitee will design and conduct a series of surveys to assess the attitudes and needs of faculty related to their satisfaction with all aspects of faculty life at Temple Universty. These surveys will include such matters as: the level of "family friendliness" experienced; the level of respect perceived from colleagues and administration; the quality of support service; perceptions of the degree of fairness; balance in work load among Teaching, Scholarship,and Service; perceptions regarding university service; how much all aspects of diversity (age, gender, race, ethnicity, sexuality, disability, etc.) are celebrated; opportunities for collegiality; opportunities for career development and evolution at all stages of faculty life; and other faculty experiences. The Committee may want to convene focus groups with various segments of faculty, including but not limited to: tenure-track faculty, tenured faculty, non-tenure track faculty, and adjunct faculty, as well as faculty at different career stages. This process could precede the design of the survey in order to be sure that the major issues are included. While the work of the committee may extend past a single semester, the Committee will submit a report to the Faculty Senate as to their acitvities and findings at the end of the spring, 2010 semester.

Adopted by the Faculty Senate Steering Committee February 3, 2009

 

 

Ad-hoc Student-Faculty Liaison Committee

The Faculty Senate Steering Committee is currently seeking interested faculty and students to serve on this committee.